The Australian General Skilled Migration (GSM) program is a pathway for skilled workers to migrate to Australia, and skill select is the current tool that controls Skilled Migration eligibility criteria and the visa application process. The main focus of Skill Select is to make it easier to obtain employer sponsorship, as the system intends to provide a clearer route for potential migrants to link up with Australian employers.


Anyone applying to immigrate to Australia based on their experience as a skilled worker is required to apply through SkillSelect. SkillSelect is the Australian government’s new online system which allows skilled workers are interested in moving to Australia to be considered for a skilled Australian visa. To begin the application process, skilled workers will need to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) through SkillSelect.

The following visas must apply for using Skill Select:

Expression of Interest (EOI)

An EOI is merely an indication that you would like to apply for an Australian visa and is not a visa application in itself. However, you will still need to include a range of information including: 

By registering an EOI on SkillSelect skilled workers can be found and nominated for an Australian visa by employers as well as state and territory governments. Once selected, you will then be invited to apply for an Australian visa. After you have completed your EOI, you will be given a point’s score and ranked by an automatic and objective process. If eligible, you will then be invited to apply for an Australian GSM visa. You may also be invited to apply for a visa if sponsored by a state or territory government or an Australian employer if you have indicated you would like to pursue these options.

Apply for a GSM visa through SkillSelect

If you have been selected to apply for a visa, you will have 60 days to apply, after which the invitation will expire. If you aren’t selected, however, your EOI will remain valid for two years, during which time you can update your EOI with any experience or details you wish.

Skilled Independent Visa

These are a points-tested permanent visa for skilled workers who are not sponsored by an Australian employer, family member or nominated by a state or territory. Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) applicants must obtain a minimum of 65 points on the point assessment.

Skilled Nominated Visa

The Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190) is a points-tested permanent visa for skilled workers who nominate by an Australian State or Territory government. Applicants must obtain a minimum of 65 points on a point’s assessment and must be nominated by a State or Territory government in Australia. To apply for this visa, you must submit an expression of interest (EOI) and be invited by Skill Select.

Skilled Regional Visa

The Skilled Regional Provisional (subclass 489) visa is a 4-year provisional visa, which requires holders to live and work in a regional area to obtain permanent residence. To qualify, you would need to be sponsored by a relative living in a designated area.

Temporary Graduate Visa (Subclass 485)

This visa is for international students who have recently graduated from an Australian educational institution. The Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485) lets you live, study and work in Australia temporarily after you have finished your studies.